Creekside’s Report for March

PDF download icon

After welcoming members to the meeting the President presented Margaret Dunford with a New Member’s Pack.

Birthday Buttonholes made by Marlene Cassidy were handed out including a special one for Ann Pearson who had reached a big 0.

Members were asked to cast their votes for the National Board of Trustees.

National raffle tickets are for sale and members were reminded that a percentage of the proceeds would be returned to the Island.

The Best Bloom competition was won by Maureen Turner with runners-up Cheryl Howell and Wendy Mitchell.

Gloria Rolfe came first in the Speaker related competition with runners-up Dorothy Maskell and Sylvia Burrows.

Doreen Murphy, a long-standing member and instrumental in the setting up of our website is leaving the Island and all our best wishes go with her in her new home.

Angela Hewitt showed slides and spoke about the Wildlife Field Study Centre called Naturezones. A ten-acre site in Blackwater has after ten years evolved into a sanctuary for wildlife and a retreat for us.